By the decree of the President of the Republic of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan, on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the independence of Armenia, Alexis Govciyan, AGBU Europe Chairman and Chairman of Coordination Council of Armenian Organizations of France, and Berdj Terzian, Chairman of AGBU District Committee of Egypt, have been awarded the distinguished Mkhitar Gosh Medal for their substantial contribution to the preservation of the Armenian identity, service to the homeland, as well as their contribution to the strengthening of friendship between the Republic of Armenia and foreign countries. Govciyan received the medal during an official award ceremony at the Presidential residence on September 17th. Among other recipients of Mkhitar Gogh medal that day were Vardges Mahtesian (Cyprus), Georgy Ter-Ghazariants (Russian Federation) and Harutyun Selimian (Syria). Berdj Terzian’s awarding ceremony took place on November 7th at the RA Diaspora Ministry. Hranoush Hakobian, RA Diaspora Minister, made a brief presentation of Terzian’s activities as a writer and publicist emphasizing his human qualities and highly assessing his role in the Armenian community of Egypt and his unwavering dedication to the solution of issues of national significance. Congratulatory speeches were delivered by Bishop Ashot Mnatsakanian, Primate of the Armenian Apostolic Church Diocese of Egypt, Ashot Melkonian, Director of the NAS Institute of History and Hovik Eordekian, Deputy Director of the AGBU Armenian Representation. Expressing his gratitude to the RA President, RA Minister of Diaspora and those present for the honor and warm wishes, Terzian noted that he is indescribably happy to witness the independence of Armenia and celebrate it’s 20th anniversary, as well as feel the appreciation of the Diaspora by the state. Also among this year’s recipients of state orders on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of Armenia’s independence were Albert Boyajian (USA) and Vahe Karapetian (USA), who were awarded Order of Honor - one of the highest titles awarded by the Republic of Armenia - for their substantial contribution in the protection of national interests, their unwavering dedication and service to the Republic of Armenia, as well as their lasting patriotic activities.



FAQ header 1


end faq